Stutz Residency Grant

Stutz Artists Association Residency AWARD

For 20 years the Stutz Artists Association (SAA) has offered free studio space valued at approximately $6000 to one or two artists making it one of the largest grants from a local arts organization offered to an individual visual artist in central Indiana. This program underlines the SAA’s ongoing role as activist for the visual arts in Indianapolis. Donate to support this award.

The window for submitting applications is closed.

Residency Timeline

Friday, July 22, 2016
Completed application, “Residency Application 2016,” must be sent via e-mail no later than 11:59pm EDT.           
$25 fee (sent via snail mail) received.

Friday, August 12, 2016            
Notification of status will be made via e-mail.

Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Finalists Interview/presentation to Selection Committee.

Friday, September 2, 2016
Winners will be notified via email.

The residency year will begin the first week of October 2016 and end the last week of August 2017. These dates are not negotiable.

Funding for the program comes from proceeds from the annual Raymond James Stutz Artists Open House. More information on the Raymond James Stutz Open House can be accessed by clicking here. In addition to the open house, the association hosts monthly daytime First Friday events as well as an Annual Holiday Exhibition.

Since its inaugural year in 1996, the residency program has provided in-kind contributions of more than $135,000 to 27 local artists. Previous residency grant recipients are:

2015: Kristy Hughes and Jessica Springman
2014: Cheryl Lorance and Marna Shopoff

2013: David Hicks and Lucas Schooler
2012: Lauren Kussro and Heather Stamenov
2011: Joseph Crone and Emily Budd
2010: Mallory Marty and Brian Myers
2009: Patrick Flaherty and Lydia Burris
2008: William Denton Ray and Mark Pack
2007: Ginny Taylor Rosner and Jay Parnell
2006: Kate Oberreich and David Kleeman
2005: Kevin Smola
2004: Ismalia “Izo” Ndaiye
2003: Stephanie Lewis Robertson
2002: Larry Endicott
2001: Kyle Ragsdale
2000: Jan Zoya
1999: Susan Watt Grade
1998: Emily Kennerk
1997: Greg Hull

The Stutz Artists Association is the largest association of working artists in Indiana. It exists to encourage its member artists and to promote their work. The historic Stutz Business Center is located at 1060 North Capitol Avenue on an entire city block in downtown Indianapolis. The 400,000-square-foot former car factory was renovated in the early 1990s and its studios and office space are now home to more 80 artists, sculptors, photographers, designers, architects and craftsmen.

More information on the residency program can be obtained by contacting the Stutz Artists Association.